GW-KW, Point Count Chess Raw Discussion, File #7:
Part of the Advanced Beginner's Chess Guide (Section 2)

Game 2, with GW's Comments, Attempting to Understand
Control of the Center
[June 5th 2011]


3. ... Nf6
Immediately attacking the hole on e4; Black begins to concentrate his attack on White's light squares; Note how in the first half of this game, most of the Black pawns and pieces attack the light squares.

Graham's Comments ...

(GW, June 5th) I notice this is in contrast to White's Pawn occupation of the dark squares. So, is it a good plan to occupy and control the squares of the opposite color to how your opponent develops? ...

Secondly, at which point - or should I say, which characteristic(s) of White's position? - did you determine that you should focus your development on attacking White's light squares?

4. g3
Further weakening the light squares.

4. ... Bg4
Developing his Bishop outside the ensuing pawn chain and attacking the Queen. Black makes this move because his Bishop is protected by the Knight, and the most logical piece White should move is the Bishop on f1. Black would like to exchange his Bishop with White, to remove the White Bishop responsible for the light squares and further take control of those light squares.

Graham's Comments ...

(GW, June 5th) This query covers White's sixth move (6. h3), when you state "... this (6. h3) is one of the desired goals for the move Bg4". You must enter into Bg4 knowing there's a high probability you'll only have to retract the Bishop, due to White's h-pawn attack.

I've seen this situation played by White (Yasser Seirawan), in his King's Indian openings, where his Queen Bishop goes to g5, albeit with the Knight pin ready to occur, with Black's Knight already on f6. What typically happens then is Black advances his h-pawn to attack the White Bishop. White (Seirawan) is then seen to drop his Pawn to h4, providing the pin against the Queen hasn't been ruled out (e.g. Black's King Bishop to e7), otherwise he returns his h-pawn-attacked Bishop back down to e3.

With both scenarios (Seirawan's, as White and yours, in this game we're commenting on, as Black), the common result is the same: the opponent has seemingly been forced to advance his h-pawn, from where it can never return. A slight weakness has been created in your opponent's Pawn Structure, right? Is that the goal, here?


Return to the Index for File #7
Chess Search 2.0
2700chess.com for more details and full list 2700chess.com for more details and full list
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail