Chess Windmill Attack, Example 2:
Part of the Chess Tactics Guide

Chess Tactics Guide
Chess Windmill Attack
[Example 2]


Chess Windmill Attack, Example 2
- Overview -

Chess Windmill Attack, Example 2Historical Game:
Torre-Em.Lasker,
Moscow, 1925


In this real example, once White has sacrificed his Queen, to put his dark-Bishop onto f6, there's a familiarity with Example 1 ...

Specifically, we see a Bishop ready to serve up a series of Discovered Checks, while a Rook goes back and forth, making capture, then check, capture, then check.

All Black's King can do is suffer the losses and keep moving his King out of check.

The final hurrah for White is to capture Black's Queen with the Windmill Rook, to settle the exchange of Queens.


Chess Windmill Attack, Example 2
- ChessFlash Viewer -


Chess Windmill Attack, Example 2
- Video Example -

PGN File(s) [+]Show

Historical Game:
Torre-Em.Lasker, Moscow, 1925

Lasker (White) is about to stun Torre (Black) with a Chess Windmill Attack that sweeps up a nice collection of Black's army. At the end, we'll tot-up the relative Point Count, to see how both fared from the sequence ...

Move 25, White's Bishop slides up to f6 and, in the process, creates a Discovered Attack, by his Queen, against Black's Queen - both on the 5th Rank ...

Black's response is to use his Queen to capture (x) White's Queen, on h5.

And now White swings into action, with his Chess Windmill Attack ...

Move 26, White, first of all, takes his active Rook up the Board and captures (x) Black's Pawn, on g7, putting Black's King in "Check" (+) ...

Because of the protection from White's Bishop, on f6, Black's King CANNOT capture White's Rook, so instead must escape, to h8 - the only legal square for his King.

Move 27, White's Rook captures (x) Black's Pawn, on f7 and, simultaneously creates a "Discovered Check" (+), from White's Bishop.

All Black's King can do is escape, back to g8.

During that Move, notice how Black's Queen gets tantalizingly in-range of White's Rook, when it captures the Pawn, on f7 ...
Chess Windmill Attack, Example 2, After Move 27
BUT, because of the instant Discovered Check, Black was totally unable to use his Queen to settle her King's problems.

Moves 28-30 sees White "Check" & Capture material, while all Black can do is, rather limply, move his King out of Check.

Move 31, White's Rook goes to g5, allowing his Bishop to target another "Discovered Check" (+); Black's King, once more, retreats to h7, where he remains an idle spectator to his Queen's fate.

Move 32, White's Rook captures (x) Black's Queen, on h5, to bring an end to his Chess Windmill Attack.

So, in terms of relative Point Count, how'd they both get on ...
  • White's Captures:
    2x Pawns (2);
    1x Bishop (3);
    1x Queen (9)

    TOTAL = 14 Points.

  • Black's Captures:
    1x Queen (9)

    TOTAL = 9 Points.
From the points alone, we can determine that White's Chess Windmill Attack was clearly worth the early Sacrifice of his Queen.

Moving On: Windmill Attack, Example 3 (Page 4).



Return to the Chess Windmill Attack Index
Chess Search 2.0
2700chess.com for more details and full list 2700chess.com for more details and full list
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail