Keyword Q&A
Can A Pawn Chess Piece Take
An Enemy Piece By Moving Diagonally Backwards


Keyword Query: Can A Pawn Chess Piece Take An Enemy Piece By Moving Diagonally Backwards
Interpretation:
There's nowt like being specific, is there?

The answer, in short, is: "NO".

Once a Pawn advances, it cannot even retreat, let alone capture in a backwards direction.

Moving for position only, Pawns can only advance in a straight line.

But, when it comes to capturing enemy material, a Pawn can only capture diagonally-forwards, one square either to the left or right, depending which square an enemy Pawn or Piece is on.

For further details about the Pawn's movements - including capturing "En Passant" and "Pawn Promotion", follow the Recommended Links, below.


Recommended Links:


KEYWORD: Can A Pawn Chess Piece Take
An Enemy Piece By Moving Diagonally Backwards
Return to the Keyword Q&A Index
Chess Search 2.0
2700chess.com for more details and full list 2700chess.com for more details and full list
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail