Keyword Q&A
[ Can A Knight Jump Over Enemy Pieces ]


Keyword Query: Can A Knight Jump Over Enemy Pieces
Interpretation:
You know Knights can jump, you want to know whether they can hop over the enemy.

Providing one of its own side isn't on your Knight's proposed landing-square, then YES, Knights can jump over enemy obstacles in its path.

But, if the Knight's landing-square is clear, then it doesn't matter whether the obstacles are your own troops, or those of your opponent's army - they can still jump over, if desired.

Just think of the start of each game of Chess, the Knights appear stuck behind the front line of Pawns ... Yet, because of their ability to jump, the Knights can be out into the middle of the Chessboard, before the Pawns have gotten out of the way.


Recommended Links:


KEYWORD: Can A Knight Jump Over Enemy Pieces
Return to the Keyword Q&A Index
Chess Search 2.0
2700chess.com for more details and full list 2700chess.com for more details and full list
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail