GW-KW, Point Count Chess Raw Discussion, File #7:
Part of the Advanced Beginner's Chess Guide (Section 2)

Game 2, with GW's Comments, Attempting to Understand
Control of the Center
[June 5th 2011]


9. Bd3
Trying to catch up on development on e4, and seeking to remove the pesky Bishop on f5.

9. ... Bxc3
When a piece is under attack, see if you can make a forcing move. The center will be closed, so Knights will be more influential than Bishops, until the endgame. White achieves the 2 Bishops, but Black has a lot of compensation. By Bxc3, Black further threatens Bxd2 with check, so White cannot take on f5, or he will be behind on the exchange after 10. Bxf5 Bxd2+ 11. Qxd2 exf5.

10. Bxc3
White could take with the b pawn, doubling them, but the Bishop would be even a greater Bad Bishop. White decides to take the lesser evil of blocking the c pawn from development.

Graham's Comments ...

(GW, June 5th) Not advancing the c-pawn earlier seems to be a major problem, limiting White's space. Back on White's 6th move, do you think a better move would have been to ignore the pinned Knight (the Queen can always recapture Black's light Bishop) and, instead, play 6. c4? If 6. ... dxc4, then 7. Bxc4 and White would develop the light Bishop in the same instance as capturing (would that be for a gain of tempo?) and then, potentially, 8. Nc3.

10. ... Ne4
A key move for Black, and from here on, White is in trouble. This Knight cannot be taken easily, for if Bxe4 Bxe4 and the Bishop is immediately attacking the trapped c2 pawn and pinning the f3 Knight again. By this move, Black controls the center with his Bishop, and has control of the key light squares in the center with his Knight, and attacks Bc3 as well as g3, and limits White's mobility on the dark squares.

Graham's Comments ...

(GW, June 5th) Why do you say Black's Bishop controls the center? I can see that, if 11. Bxe4 Bxe4 and Black's Bishop is left, supported (by d5-pawn) and unchallenged on e4. Is that essentially it to controlling the center? Get the pawns to block each other in the center, then the player who gets a piece onto a support point, which cannot be challenged, in the center, in the enemy's territory, has control of the Center?


Return to the Index for File #7
Chess Search 2.0
2700chess.com for more details and full list 2700chess.com for more details and full list
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail