GW-KW, Point Count Chess Raw Discussion, File #2:
Part of the Advanced Beginner's Chess Guide (Section 2)

GW-KW, Point Count Chess,
Raw Discussion, May 18th 2011,
What I Just Didn't Get,
[+] Mobile Pawn Wing


May 19th 2011, additions to that discussion ...

Referring to paragraph 1 of Ken's comments, May 18th, regarding the Mobile Pawn Wing ...

(KW, May 18th) On p. 72, 3rd paragraph, H&M-S state that in order to have a Mobile Pawn Wing count as a point, you must already have control of the center and superior development (which he gets to in chapter 15), on a small sector of the board (lets say black has only one Knight defending his castled King, no other pieces, and White has two piece trained on the quarter of the board where the Black King is, then you could count a point because Black could not mount a counterattack against you if you moved your pawns *).

(GW, May 19th) * ... and so, because Black cannot assemble more Pieces to deal with White's two Pieces (trained on the King's quarter), the White Pawns are without fear to advance - or, are free to advance towards the Black camp, thus are "Mobile" ... and, as they're on the Wing (Flank), they called a Mobile Pawn Wing.

Ken's Comments ...

Exactly.

Referring to all of Ken's comments, May 18th, regarding the Mobile Pawn Wing ...

(GW, May 19th) Just to clarify, further ... it doesn't have to be Mobile Pawns heading towards the adverse King? So long as the "center control" and "superior development" qualifiers are met, be they on the King- or Queen-side, the Pawns that have free reign to advance are the Mobile Pawn Wing.

Ken's Comments ...

That's right.

Referring to a general issue that needs clarifying ...

(GW, May 19th) ??? So, when do they STOP being classed as a Mobile Pawn Wing? Would it be as soon as one of the Mobile Pawns closes up to attack one of the Pawns in the adverse camp? Or, is it up to the point where there'd be a one-square margin of space between one of the advancing Mobile Pawns and an adverse Pawn (either on the same file, or adjacent file)?

Ken's Comments ...

No. This "Pawn Storm" is an advantage (assuming the criteria of center control and superior development still apply) until you (in general) no longer have a pawn that is mobile (pawns blockading one another, or a piece blockading a pawn that cannot be shaken from its post, or exchanging away all pawns). This is where one advantage (Mobile Pawn Wing) would be converted to others (Opponent's doubled pawns, etc).

The reason to advance the pawns is to create weaknesses in the enemy camp. This idea of conversion of advantages is a big one in chess. That's also the difference of a dynamic (or temporary) advantage, verses a permanent advantage (greater material force, etc.).


Return to the Index for File #2
Chess Search 2.0
2700chess.com for more details and full list 2700chess.com for more details and full list
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail