GW-KW, Point Count Chess Raw Discussion, File #2:
Part of the Advanced Beginner's Chess Guide (Section 2)

GW-KW, Point Count Chess,
Raw Discussion, May 19th 2011,
What I Needed Ken To Clarify,
[-] King Held in Center

May 19th 2011, additions to that discussion about King Held in Center ...

May 19th 2011 - King Held in Center - Ex.1a

(GW, May 19th) Ex.1a, above, and Ex.1b, below, show what you mean by a King "WANTING to stay in the Center". The two images are the before and after positions relating to diagram No. 121, page 174. The upshot is, the King WANTS to be in the Center - NOT Castled to the side - when both Queens have been removed from the board" ...

May 19th 2011 - King Held in Center - Ex.1b

More specifically, once the Queens are removed, H&M-S say "... the King then often stands better on K2 or Q2, ready to march into the center, than in the corner". The following PGN is the sequence for the PCC example, No. 121, page 174:


[Event "King WANTS to stay in the Center"]
[Site "?"]
[Date "????.??.??"]
[Round "?"]
[White "New game"]
[Black "?"]
[Result "*"]
[SetUp "1"]
[FEN "r1b2rk1/pp1nqppp/2p1p3/3n4/2BP4/2N1PN2/PP3PPP/2RQK2R w K - 0 0"]
[PlyCount "5"]
1. Ne4 Qb4+ 2. Qd2 Qxd2+ 3. Kxd2 *

H&M-S do point out certain occasions when the Kings might want to be centrally, even when Queens are on the board. This is highlighted in No. 122, page 174. I've created the before (Ex.2a) and after (Ex.2b) positions, below:

May 19th 2011 - King Held in Center - Ex.2a
Ex.2a (Before)
May 19th 2011 - King Held in Center - Ex.21b
Ex.2b (After)

Ex.2b, is just one Black-move on: 1. ... Kf8. Black (Capablanca) had the option of Q-side Castling (0-0-0), but his King move, denying his right to Castle, was in order to quickly get a Rook to the King file, at e8, in order to help reinforce protection of the soon-to-be-threatened e4 Knight. The King, by not Castling to the side, remains to provide protection for the King Rook.

The last proviso, about the King 'voluntarily staying in the center', needs altering, then, to the current COA Castling rules, which debits 5 points for Castling becoming VOID, regardless of "why".

Ken's Comments ...

(Re: that very last paragraph) Maybe it would be better to assign plus points for Castling, rather than negative points for not doing it.

Return to the Index for File #2
Chess Search 2.0 for more details and full list for more details and full list, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail