GW-KW, Point Count Chess Raw Discussion, File #1:
Part of the Advanced Beginner's Chess Guide (Section 2)

GW-KW, Point Count Chess,
Raw Discussion, May 18th 2011,
What I Needed Ken To Clarify,
[+] Bishop-pair


(GW) What I needed Ken to clarify ...

Bishop-pair

  • H&M-S only seem to count the Bishop-pair if one army has lost one of his Bishops.

    That would make sense as, if you award one point to each army, while they both have two Bishops, then each point cancels out the other, so neither army has any advantage, here. So, no count while both armies are in possession of a Bishop-pair.

Ken's Comments ...

Right! You could count a plus 1 when one side has two Bishops, while the other has Bishop and Knight, or two Knights. Otherwise it is a zero for this category.


Return to the Index for File #1
Chess Search 2.0
2700chess.com for more details and full list 2700chess.com for more details and full list
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail