GW-KW, Point Count Chess Raw Discussion, File #1:
Part of the Advanced Beginner's Chess Guide (Section 2)

GW-KW, Point Count Chess,
Raw Discussion, May 18th 2011,
What I Needed Ken To Clarify,
[-] Bad Bishop

(GW) What I needed Ken to clarify ...

Bad Bishop

  • I think this is a Bishop whose own Pawns block its diagonal, specifically through the Center, but also prevent their friendly Bishop from getting out to more advanced territory (i.e. Rank 4 and beyond). ... Is this correct?

Ken's Comments ...

Bad Bishops are related to Weak Squares and Holes. If each side only has one Bishop, and one Bishop is on the color opposite to the majority of his pawns (Dark square Bishop with a majority of his pawns on light squares), while his opponent's Bishop is on the same color as the majority of his pawns (Light Bishop with the majority of opponent's pawns on light squares), the opponent has a Bad Bishop, and deserves a minus point. This also comes into play when you have a choice which Bishop to exchange on your side (keep the Good Bishop) or which to take of your Opponent (Take his Good Bishop, and leave him with his Bad Bishop). You want to plug your holes and make your opponent leak like a sieve.

Generally, when comparing it to Cramped Position above, if the position is cramped because of the Bad Bishop alone, I would only deduct one point. But if the position is also affecting other pieces (Knight, Rook, Queen) and their movement behind their lines, I would probably give one minus point for the Bad Bishop, and one for Cramped Position (or give a plus to the opponent for Greater Space, whichever way you want to do that).

Return to the Index for File #1
Chess Search 2.0 for more details and full list for more details and full list, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail