Keyword Q&A
[ Can The Queen Jump In Chess ]

Keyword Query: Can The Queen Jump In Chess
You want to know if the Queen has the same capability as the Knights, which can jump over other Pawns and Pieces on the Board.

It's possible you've overheard how Chess was played in Medieval times ... However, back then - whenever it was, exactly - it wasn't the Queen that could jump, but the Bishops.

Both Bishops and Knights were, once, able to jump over obstacles.

However, unlike today's Bishop, with its diagonal, long-range capacity; Medieval Bishop Chess Pieces could only move a maximum of 2 squares, per turn.

As for the Queen, she CANNOT jump - not in Medieval times; not in today's game.

Recommended Links:

KEYWORD: Can The Queen Jump In Chess
Return to the Keyword Q&A Index
Chess Search 2.0 for more details and full list for more details and full list, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail