Keyword Q&A
[ Can Pawn Cut King In Chess Game ]


Keyword Query: Can Pawn Cut King In Chess Game
Interpretation:
It depends what you mean by 'cut' ... You either mean "attack" or "capture" the King.

If by 'Cut' you mean Attack, then yes; a Pawn can 'cut' (attack) the enemy King.

If by 'Cut' you mean Capture, then NO; neither Pawn or any of the other Pieces can capture the enemy King ...

King's cannot be captured and removed from the Chessboard, like happens with Pawns and Piece ... A King can only be put in either:

  1. "Check", which is when a Pawn or Piece directly threatens the King, just like they could threaten to capture an enemy Pawn or Piece.

  2. "Checkmate", which happens when a King cannot escape "Check" ... The result is, the player whose King is in "Checkmate ", has just Lost the game.


Recommended Links:


KEYWORD: Can Pawn Cut King In Chess Game
Return to the Keyword Q&A Index
Chess Search 2.0
2700chess.com for more details and full list 2700chess.com for more details and full list
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail