Keyword Q&A
[ Can A Bishop Jump Its Own Player ]


Keyword Query: Can A Bishop Jump Its Own Player
Interpretation:
You've maybe heard about Medieval Chess, where a Bishop could jump and want to know if that's still the case, but with its own army.

Apparently, during the Medieval period, the rules of Chess permitted the Bishops to jump other Pieces - friend or enemy - but they were restricted to moving a maximum of 2 squares, per turn.

The modern game of Chess is different and the Bishop's pattern of movement has been altered.

Bishops CANNOT jump, anymore - not their own player's troops; nor the enemy's men ...

But, to compensate, they have a long-range, along the diagonals of their their designated color squares.


Recommended Links:


KEYWORD: Can A Bishop Jump Its Own Player
Return to the Keyword Q&A Index
Chess Search 2.0
2700chess.com for more details and full list 2700chess.com for more details and full list
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Basic Chess Rules, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Beginner's Chess Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Openings Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Strategies Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Tactic Guide, Thumbnail
Chess-Game-Strategies.com, Chess Endgame Guide, Thumbnail